Copyright @ grinold.chapter. All rights reserved.

Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter 

National Football Foundation 

Executive Director Jim Seavey and Roger Crosley

Pindell, McAllen Named As Week 3 Recipients Of NEFW/Grinold Chapter Gold Helmet Awards
CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - UConn senior quarterback David Pindell and WPI junior running back Sean McAllen are this week’s recipients of the New England Football Writers Association Gold Helmet Awards presented by the Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Pindell, a native of Columbia, Md. And a graduate of Oakland Mills High School, amassed 445 yards of total offense and accounted for six touchdowns in the Huskies’ 56-49 victory over Rhode Island, including a career-best 308 yards and four scores through the air.  McAllen, a native of Prospect, Conn. and a graduate of Woodland High School, rushed for 160 yards on just 16 carries and accounted for four touchdowns (three on the ground) playing in only the first half of the Engineers’ 45-0 shutout of Becker.

The Gold Helmet Awards are presented each Wednesday afternoon at the weekly New England Football Writers Association Media Luncheons that take place at Harvard University’s Dillon Field House.  For the fourth straight year, the Jack Grinold Eastern Massachusetts Chapter of the National Football Foundation is the presenting sponsor for both the weekly and end-of-year Gold Helmet Awards presented to student-athletes from FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III institutions throughout New England. For more information on the Gold Helmet Awards and the New England Football Writers Association, please visit

Executive Director Jim Seavey says. "The Chapter has reached out to the collegiate football community in a greater way over the past several years with the annual Jack Daly Award, by sponsoring the weekly and annual Gold Helmet Awards given by the NEFW and by conducting the New England Division III Poll. This is a logical extension of those efforts."

Former Grinold Chapter Executive Director Roger Crosley was presented with the first ever Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter Contributor Award at the 43rd Annual Chapter Scholar-Athlete Banquet on May 20. The award, which will not be presented annually, but will be presented at the discretion of the Chapter Executive Committee is presented to an individual for, "outstanding work in promoting the ideals and values of the  

Former Executive Director Receives Chapter Contributor Award

Chapter Partners To Sponsor Collegiate Previews

sport of football and continued support of the mission of the National Football Foundation".

Crosley assumed Executive Director responsibilities for the Chapter in December of 2010, following Grinold in the position. During his tenure Chapter membership more than doubled, attendance at the chapter's annual Coaches Clinic more than tripled, the Chapter initiated greater outreach to college football in the region including the establishment of the Jack Daly Award for a collegiate scholar/athlete/citizen and the number of high school scholar-athletes honored annually increased by 50%. In addition, two of the Chapter's scholar-athletes received the prestigious NFF Regional Scholar-Athlete Award after being nominated by Crosley, and he designed and served as webmaster for the Chapter website.

The award was presented by the Chapter's new Executive Director, Jim Seavey. In making the presentation, Seavey announced that the award will henceforth be know as the "Roger Crosley Chapter Contributor Award".

The Jack Grinold/Eastern Massachusetts Chapter and the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston have partnered with the New England Football Writers Association to sponsor a Virtual Media Day for football playing colleges in New England. Colleges were requested to submit a preview video for the 2018 season. Over one-third of the New England football playing institutions submitted their previews. The previews can be viewed on the New England Football Writers website.

"We're very excited about both this unprecedented partnership between the three oldest football organizations in New England and the fact that we are able to provide this service to the media members in New England," Chapter 

Corporate Partners